Cerro Aconcagua – 7 Summits


Aconcagua is the highest mountain outside of Asia,being the tallest in both the Southern and Western Hemispheres with a summit elevation of 6,960.8 metres. It is located in the Principal Cordillera of the Andes mountain range situated in Argentina.

Aconcagua has three main routes:


Normal Route: It takes the Northwest ridge straight to the top. The trail requires no technical climbing and is often considered a ‘trekking’ route.

Polish Traverse Route: This route completely circumnavigates Aconcagua. Climbers ascend the Polish Route from the east and descend via the Normal Route to the west.

Polish Glacier Route: This is for more experienced climbers. The route takes a direct path up the east side of the mountain over the famous ‘Polish Glacier’. Unlike the other two routes, this route requires ice climbing, ice axes and short roping.


Aconcagua is considered the highest ‘trekking peak’ in the world. Although this is true, the Normal Route should not be underestimated as less than half of all attempts end in failure. The altitude is often overlooked by climbers who simply focus on the notion that it’s a trekking peak with no technical difficulty.

Other Posts


Lhotse Part I


Mount Everest – 7 Summits


Mount Elbrus – 7 Summits