Seven Summits Expeditions

The Seven Summits are the highest peaks on each of the seven continents. There are several versions of the Seven Summits. They vary slightly from each other. It’s the definition of the continent borders that leads to this variation. It concerns the highest peaks of Europe and Oceania. Here we talk about:

  • The highest peak in Europe: Mont Blanc versus Mount Elbrus
  • Including all of Oceania or only mainland Australia as the continent. This means the highest peak is either Puncak Jaya (also known as “Carstensz Pyramid”) or Mount Kosciuszko.

Here are the main 7 Summits lists:

  • Everest, Aconcagua, Denali, Kilimanjaro, Vinson, Elbrus, Puncak Jaya (the Messner version)
  • Everest, Aconcagua, Denali, Kilimanjaro, Vinson, Elbrus, Kosciuszko (the Bass version)

I decided to go with the Messner Version. It’s the most challenging one.

Completing the Seven Summits takes in average 7 to 10 years. I decided to raise the bar higher and take up this challenge in one year only. May 2018 to May 2019 was a very intense year. I travelled the globe, learned about many different cultures and stood on the top of every continents.  The weather conditions and the pre-setup was not always the best on every expedition. I learned to adjust to every environment and stay focused on my goal.


Denali (prev. McKinley) – 7 Summits


Mount Elbrus – 7 Summits


Carstensz Pyramid – 7 Summits


Kilimanjaro – 7 Summits


Cerro Aconcagua – 7 Summits


Mount Everest – 7 Summits


Mount Vinson – 7 Summits

7 Summits Overview

The following picture shows the map of the Seven Summits based on the Messner List. This challenge is not only about climbing the highest peaks on every continent but also about travelling the globe and discovering new cultures!